OSH Authority

The Occupational Safety and Health (OSH) Authority was established in October 2006 on the basis of the Occupational Safety and Health Act, 2004 as amended. It is a multi-stakeholder advisory body to the Ministry of Labour.  The core tasks of the Authority are:

  • to encourage the enforcement of the OSH Act
  • to promote training and research
  • to provide information  
  • to develop regulations and Approved Codes of Practice according to the OSH Act

A full description of the tasks and functions of the OSH Authority can be found in the text of Sections 66 and 67 of the OSH Act.

Board of Directors

Top Row L-R. Mr. Derek Luk Pat, Mr. Christopher Alcazar, Mr. Kendal C. Dolly, Mr. Ceron Richards, Mr. Ashton Cunningham, Ms. Jenell Partap, Mr. Roger Camacho,    Mr. Jason Maitland,  Dr. Mutchinson Melville, Mr. Farouk Mohammed and Mr. Brian Patrick 

Bottom Row L-R. Mr. Farzan Ali, Ms. Hannah Wei-Muddeen, Ms. Natalie Willis, Former Minister of Labour Jennifer Baptiste-Primus,          Dr. Victor Coombs, Chairman, Mrs. Pettal John-Beerens, Deputy Director Legal, OSHA.

Absent: Dr. Wayne Ramgoolam, Ms. Jacqueline Burgess, Mrs. Carolyn Sancho


# Name Position Organisation
1 Dr. Victor Coombs Chairman Appointed by the Ministry of Labour, Consultant in Occupational and Environmental Health
2 Ms. Hannah Wei-Muddeen Deputy Chairman Appointed by MOLSED
3 Ms. Carolyn Sancho Member Executive Director, Occupational Safety and Health Agency
4 Mr. Farouk Mohammed Member Labour Inspector II, MOL
5 Dr. Wayne Ramgoolam Member South West Regional Health Authority
6 Mr. Kendal C. Dolly Member Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries
7 Mr. Derek Luk Pat Member Trinidad and Tobago Bureau of Standards
8 Mr. Brian Patrick Member Tobago House of Assembly
9 Mr. Farzan Ali Member Employers' Consultative Association of Trinidad and Tobago
10 Mr. Christopher Alcazar Member Trinidad and Tobago Manufacturers' Association
11 Mr. Ceron Richards Member Prison Officers' Association of Trinidad and Tobago (Second Division)
12 Mr. Ashton Cunningham Member Federation of Independent Trade Union and NGOs (FITUN)
13 Dr. Mutchinson Melville Member Medical Board of Trinidad and Tobago
14 Mr. Roger Camacho Member Board of Engineering of Trinidad and Tobago
15 Ms. Jaqueline Burgess Member

Network of NGOs of Trinidad and Tobago for the Advancement of Women

16 Mr. Jason Maitland Member Institute of Occupational Safety and Health Caribbean Branch
17 Ms Jenell Partap Member Environmental Management Authority